IFS Global Markets Logistics

The IFS Global Markets Logistics Program: The Gradual Approach to IFS Logistics Certification

The IFS Global Markets program was launched in June 2016 and presents a step by step approach to the implementation of the IFS Logistics standard. The program is intended for businesses which have not yet established their product safety and quality processes and aims to provide an easier, step by step approach to the implementation of a full product safety and quality system. DQS is an approved assessment body within the IFS Global Markets framework.

The IFS Logistics Standard was originally published in 2006. Since then, it has become the leading safety and quality standard for logistics providers. For small and/or new business, however, the full implementation of the IFS Logistics Standard can be a daunting task. The IFS Global Markets Logistics Program enables businesses to implement the requirements of the IFS Logistics Standard in different phases – moving from basic requirements to the full implementation in a timeframe of three years.

Scope of the IFS Global Markets Logistics Program

Like the IFS Logistics Standard, the Global Markets program includes all logistical activities like loading, transportation, off-loading, storage, handling and further distribution. It is applicable for all types of transport: truck, train, ship, plane or any other types of transportation, temperature controlled or ambient stable. The program applies to both food and non-food products.


The IFS Global Market Logistics program enables companies to gradually evolve towards a fully effective safety and quality system. Participants benefit from:

  • Facilitation of market access
  • Acceptance along the entire supply chain
  • Recognition by retailers worldwide
  • Visibility in the IFS Database
  • Measurable improvement of processes

Here’s how it works: The Assessment Stages

The ultimate goal of the IFS Global Markets program is to guide you towards the full implementation of the IFS Logistics Standard, typically within a period of no more than three years. It consists of the following possible stages:

  1. An assessment to the basic level requirements as outlined in the checklist. The requirements at this stage correspond to about 40 % of the key elements of the IFS Logistics standard. It comprises requirements for quality and product safety management, resource management, service delivery, measurements, analyses and improvements.
  2. After qualifying for the basic requirements, companies are ready to be assessed to the intermediate level checklist, which includes all requirements of the basic level, plus another 30 % of the IFS Logistics standard elements.
  3. Certification against the IFS Logistics Standard

Depending on their maturity level, companies can choose to skip the first and/or second stage. As the first and second stage are regarded as transitional, companies should generally move to the next stage within a year. A full overview of the basic and intermediate level criteria can be downloaded free of charge from the IFS website here.

Letter of Conformity

After the assessment, we issue a letter of conformity, stating your level of implementation. The results are also shared in the IFS database, opening doors to new markets.

DQS – Your Partner for Certification

DQS is your partner for the IFS Global Market assessments. We schedule audits without hassle, rely exclusively on experienced auditors and create added value with intelligent audit reports. DQS is an accreditated certification for the IFS Logistics standard, which means that we can guide you through all the phases of the IFS Global Markets and IFS Logistics program.

IFS Global Markets Logistics Cover

Related Projects

Share:Share on LinkedInShare on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on Twitter

flag_64_0e507f Want to stay up to date on CSR & Quality Management? Subscribe to our LinkedIn Page!